aScent of man

The manosphere is constantly encouraging us to improve ourselves. We evolve through life experience and through relationships over time (Proverbs 27:17 – “As Iron sharpens Iron, so one man sharpens another”). These facilitate organic,  evolutionary changes. Reflecting on my married life I’m conscious of some of these changes. Diet. Attitudes. When your wife/gf buys you clothes her tastes get imposed on you. I had no real problem with any of this as was never that interested.

I’m now initiating the changes. Clothes are easy. Jackets, jeans & suits. I have a decent watch which serves as my jewellery.

Food is not going to change that much. Like many men I’m a respectable cook and have sufficient intelligence to work the phone in order to get a takeaway if I can’t be arsed to make something myself. 

Philosophy/world view continues as work in progress. Probably until the day I draw my last breath.

Hobbies will get more free time. Amount of time will probably depend on custody arrangements.

This brings me to the topic of this blog post. Do a search on smell and a number articles spring up. From the populist analysis to this and this. One of the things that struck me, directly related to one of my post divorce objectives, is below:bottle

5 A woman’s sense of smell is much stronger than a man’s. It is heightened even more in the first half of the menstrual cycle and reaches its peak when she is most fertile.

Not only is smell an attractor, but it can also elicit an emotional response:

Studies show that 75% of emotions are triggered by smell which is linked to pleasure, well-being, emotion and memory – handy when you want people to buy your products.

So am approaching smell and scent from 2 directions. One from a perspective of changing me, the other on what attracts the opposite sex.

I’ve always worn the same stuff (deodorants, aftershave etc) for the past 25 years. Your basic designer products.  Don’t get me wrong none of it is bad. I, however, decided this part of my new life needs a little revolution.

I discovered this site last year and have started experimenting with products by Creed. They’ve been making high end products since 1760, so I figured they are a good place to start. They exhibit a different level of sophistication when compared to the standard designer stuff I used to wear.

Since the costs are high – the recommendation is that you spend in excess of £90-£100 – it means the perfumer can use the best, most exotic ingredients. It also means you need to make sure you’re buying the correct stuff. Thus I have invested in a number of samples.

These are actually quite powerful and allow you to try a number of different classes of smell. Wood, spicy, citrus and more.  I haven’t figured out finally which ones to go for but am enjoying working through them. I feel really good wearing them. I hope that once I get into this women will notice a bit more as well.

I’ve currently got 5 I’m trying out, and will nip into London to get some more before I commit. What I have found is that the new smells are actually very confidence building.

Will be getting some more empirical results over the coming months – what to buy, what the girls seem to prefer and more

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Life
Recent Comments
Katie on Gone fishin… week 1
mandivorced on Thoughts on divorce
seattlegraphix on Thoughts on divorce
seattlegraphix on Dating sites
Categories
